How I got from fat to fit, among other bits of wisdom.

Archive for March 9, 2011

What’s for Dinner?

Two varieties of ginger as sold in Haikou, Hai...

Image via Wikipedia

My husband always has dinner (or meal planning in general) on his mind.  I always seem to think of it at the last-minute.  His way is right; mine is way wrong!  Think about it.  When meal planning is last-minute, it’s likely going to be something convenient, and it is likely going to be processed.

Does this only apply to me?  I know; if it wasn’t in my pantry to begin with, then I wouldn’t have it as an option.  Spaghetti and sauce, however, is always in my pantry.  Hey, at least I no longer store Hamburger Helper in there!

If we remember, my husband and I will make a menu for the week.  That usually lasts for one week and then we forget (read: we get too busy and the menu gets neglected).  This month, I made a monthly menu.  I went through my favorite recipes and also sneaked in a few new ones to try.  We’ve already discovered one of the “new ones” to throw out of the mix…

My March menu - my husband cooks on the weekends and I let him plan that!

This new system (I’ve done this once before and it only lasted a month, but it was a great month of meal planning) has helped tremendously.  Each Monday morning, I go to the grocery store with my list of ingredients that I’ll need for the week.  My mother-in-law introduced me to a phrase that her father used to say: “A high grocery bill is better than a high medical bill.”  I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the cost efficiency of my healthy and unprocessed meals.

So, why not give it a try?  You don’t have to have a different meal for each day of the month.  Some of our favorites are included once a week for the entire month.  It’s so easy this way.  The only glitch is to make sure I pull out any frozen protein in time to actually marinate and/or cook the meal…it’s a work in progress!