How I got from fat to fit, among other bits of wisdom.

Archive for March 20, 2011

The Sunday Word

Clear.

On my sidebar, you’ll see a link to K-LOVE…a radio station that I love.  The music is “positive, encouraging”.  It’s really a contemporary Christian radio station.  At the beginning of 2011, I heard the morning DJs talking about My One Word.  It’s kind of where I got the concept of “The Sunday Word” except that I change my word weekly whereas My One Word focuses on choosing a word that will be your “theme” or focus for the year.

It’s not a “New Year Resolution” – it’s One Word that you use to cast a vision of the person you want to be in 2011.  Pastor Mike Ashcraft of Port City Church in Wilmington, NC, developed the idea years ago to help him and his church get past the disappointment of broken resolutions, but instead choose one word that focuses on your character and creates a vision for your future.  ~Eric Allen, co-host for K-LOVE Morning Show from Indianapolis, IN.

The other co-host for the morning show is Lisa Williams.  The One Word she picked for 2011 was “clear“.  She went on to explain her choice by reading the World English Dictionary’s definition of the word:

  1. free from darkness or obscurity; bright
  2. without discoloration, blemish, or defect
  3. easy to see or hear; distinct
  4. free from doubt or confusion
  5. certain in the mind; sure
  6. perceptive; alert
  7. evident or obvious
  8. serene; calm
  9. without qualification or limitation; complete
  10. free of suspicion, guilt, or blame
  11. free from debt or obligation

Obviously, being a DJ for a Christian radio station, when she focuses on the word clear, she is thinking of it from a specific perspective, but she’s also applying it to her real life.  I think the word clear applies to real life for all of us, especially when we start to lose focus in our weight loss/fitness/good health journey.  Stay clear.  Stay focused.  Stay committed.  You can do this!