How I got from fat to fit, among other bits of wisdom.

Archive for March 28, 2011

Monument Countdown: Monday!!!

 

I'm getting so excited! It's finally here!

 

This is it!  This is the week!  The Ukrop’s Monument Avenue 10k is THIS WEEKEND!!!

I’ve only run this race once, and I’ve already blogged about it (here and here), but I’m going to take this week to talk about some things you might be wondering if this is your first time!

 

I used the word "minivan" 3 times in this paragraph...

I went by myself last year.  I left the house at 7:15 am to arrive downtown by 7:50 am.  I parked about a mile east of the Monroe Park.  I parked my minivan and guzzled some Gatorade.  I put on my bib number (this year, my number is PB28156) and fastened my timer chip on my shoes.  I put the “other” tag on the other shoe by mistake and didn’t realize it until a friend told me about it later…  I was so nervous!  I put everything I needed in my fanny pack and left everything else in my minivan.

 

I used the walk from the minivan to Monroe Park as a warm-up.  Some people jogged, but I just walked at a brisk pace.  I didn’t have any idea what I was doing!  I didn’t even know where the starting line was!!!  I got to Monroe Park and found some people I knew.  I didn’t check any bags and all of my friends did, so I lost them and went on my way.  I decided to go up the Cathedral steps because I saw others doing it and I could get a better view.  I thought it was so cool that so many people went inside for the “blessing for runners” before starting their race.  At this point, I still did not know where the starting line was.  I was not aware that I had to go to Broad Street.  This was the Monument Avenue 10k…what do you mean it starts on Broad Street?

All of a sudden, I realized that no one was going to announce to me that it was time to get in line.  I followed a group of people who had the same letters on their bibs.  I then realized I had to go to Broad…and I had to pee.  This was not the redone VCU part of Broad and no one advertised public restrooms.  Crap.  No worries…I’ll just sweat it out…  So, I got in line and got chatty with a lady next to me who was going to walk the whole thing.  Okay, so I signed up as a run/walker in the same wave as a lady who was going to walk the whole thing.  She probably beat me!

Once you get started, you just follow the crowd and you’ll get through.  You’re going to love the bands.  You’re going to love the little league cheerleaders.  You’re going to love the college students who are drinking and playing beer pong in their front yards and paying absolutely no attention to you!  You’re going to get to the finish and you are not going to receive a medal.  Boo.  I like medals.  The tee-shirts and bags are pretty, though.  I’m willing to pay more money to get a medal, but that’s just me.

So, this is Monday and the race is Saturday.  It’s taper off time in case you haven’t already.  You have run at least 6.2 miles in your training, right?  If not, maybe get that in today so your legs won’t freeze up at the “last” furthest mileage you’ve completed.  If you ran at least 6.2 within the last 2 weeks, then you’re golden.  If you ran a long run yesterday (Sunday), then rest today.  No need to beef it up at the last minute…no injuries!!!  It’s going to be AWESOME!