How I got from fat to fit, among other bits of wisdom.

Archive for March 13, 2011

Sunday’s Word

Franklin D. Roosevelt was elected to four term...

Image via Wikipedia

Fear.

There are a plethora of quotes pertaining to fear.  It’s one of our most common and necessary emotions.  An article in Psychology Today (no author was given) says this:

Fear is a vital response to physical and emotional danger—if we couldn’t feel it, we couldn’t protect ourselves from legitimate threats. But often we fear situations that are in no way life-or-death, and thus hang back for no good reason.

Did you catch that?  I want to focus on that last sentence…that what we often fear is not a life-or-death situation, and thus we hang back for no good reason.  How many of you have yet to take “that first step” out of fear?  Usually, the fear associated here is the fear of failure; or the fear of embarrassment.

I was scared this week.  I was frightened, but I “did it afraid”.  I’ve been writing this blog for months and haven’t shared it with everyone I know.  I’ve gone to great lengths, in fact, to keep it hidden.  I decided that it wasn’t doing anyone any good to write a blog and hide it from the mass public.  The folks who have seen my blog seem to enjoy it and why not share it with everyone else?!

I said in a previous post that I’m a fan of Joyce Meyer Ministries.  She wrote an article entitled, “Do It Afraid!”. Read it and know that it’s okay to feel fear.  Sometimes we have to take that first step while we are still afraid!

“The key to change…is to let go of fear.”  ~Roseanne Cash

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.”  ~Ambrose Redmoon

“Ultimately we know deeply that the other side of fear is freedom.”  ~Marilyn Ferguson

and finally, “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”  ~Franklin D. Roosevelt