How I got from fat to fit, among other bits of wisdom.

I’ve been guilty of this.  If I don’t think I can do something well right out of the box, then I cower with fear.

The “old me” would come up with every excuse I could think of to turn you down if you asked me to start a new workout program with you.  So, when people turn me down, I usually recognize it very quickly.

A sweet friend used to invite me to her gym for a class she loved.  I didn’t think I could do it very well and would feel embarrassed, so I never seemed to have time to go with her.  Once I started (very slowly) running, I was flooded with requests to join various running groups.  I in no way wanted to join an already established group! In fact, when I set up a running date with anyone, I quietly celebrated when it was cancelled at the last minute so I could go alone…at my own turtle’s pace.

I love quotes.  I try to find positive quotes that either fit my mood for the day or that might impact someone else that is on my mind.  One day, I read this Chinese proverb:

“Be not afraid of moving slowly.  Be afraid of standing still.”

I think it’s normal to fear the unknown and it’s very difficult to start something new and unfamiliar.  I decided that it’s okay to move slowly…at least I’m moving!  This concept is not just for exercising…it’s moving forward in any area of your life.  Let’s say you already have a consistent workout schedule…or weight loss isn’t an issue for you.  Let’s say you have some other habit you want to break or something new you want to try.  It doesn’t matter if there is a learning curve or if you won’t be an ace at it from the beginning.  Moving slowly is better than standing still.  I had to learn that baby steps are okay!

Leave a comment